Ah, how stupid youth is! - Nada

Was Andrea going crazy because she’s starving or is it because she's a teenager OR is it the calle de aribau? 


Andrea seems to be okay at first, then she was speaking about how she was at her dad's cousin's house,she admitted that she didn't really wanna be there so she was making her cousin's life as miserable as possible and being as difficult as she could so that she could be sent away to her mom's family instead. And that's when she was sent to Barcelona and when she was sent to Barcelona, things weren't as she expected them to be, she wanted it to be like a life-changing situation, but then she found out that it isn't the case. Grandma's house is quite miserable and she didn't only started acting up because her aunt was quite authoritarian but in her own way, she was being rebellious like all teenagers do. She was also thinking/complaining about how she doesn't really like the way her aunt is expecting her to do things a certain way,she didn't want to be compliant but had no choice until she befriended Gloria to upset her aunt and realized she can be quietly rebellious. And she did walk alone in Barcelona against her aunt's wishes and trying to do things shes not supposed to. In that sense, she is just being a teenager because at that point, she was still being taken care of by her family. But after her aunt moved away, and she was in charge of her own money and receiving allowance, she was acting up a little. 

I can relate to this because I was similar to her because I moved away from home when I was 17, I was receiving allowance directly from my parents and then I would have to take care of myself and manage it. I can relate to her spending it on unnecessary things because I was spending money on stuff that I wanted rather than what I needed, at least for the first few months. I don't blame her for wanting to live her life because that's what she always wanted. That's the reason she wanted to move to Barcelona. But then things change. 

She was being really odd after she was starving herself but she thinks it's fine that she's not eating as much as long as she's hanging out with her friend and that she's getting her friends mom's flowers. But at the end she was becoming more and more like the people at calle de aribua. Agitated all the time. I'm glad she made up with Ena though. I love that she realized she has a good friend. But in the end I think the people she lived with was driving her mad and you cant think (at least not very well) on an empty stomach.


NOTE: I didn't realized I posted the unrevised version! This is what I meant to post T^T

Comments

  1. Thanks for your post... just in time! Don't forget to leave us a specific question about the novel so we can discuss it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. "But after her aren't moved away, and she was in charge of her own money, she was acting like a very well."

    I'm not sure I understand this... Which aunt moved away?

    "I can relate to her spending things too unnecessary things and spending money to buy stuff"

    Or this... what unnecessary things?

    "she was being fat like she was OK still."

    I don't really understand this, either.

    This post seems to have been written at best in a rush (and perhaps via dictation... hence "aren't" for "aunt" and other errors). As I've said, these posts don't have to be perfect, but it doesn't seem as though you have read through it yourself to check for errors that are easy to fix.

    It would help also to stay closer to the text, and to point to specific incidents and page numbers to provide evidence for your arguments and analysis. Otherwise, you can leave a reader such as myself puzzled.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Professor Jon!
      I'm so sorry for the very confusing text I posted. I meant to post the revised version of the voice diction. It really was a rough version of my thoughts on Andrea and I didn't realized that until now as I was checking the comments. Hopefully this is a better read and not as confusing!

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts